What good is love that no one shares?

I’ve been obsessed with the song “This Bitter Earth” by Dinah Washington, for quite a while but I couldn’t figure out why. If you haven’t ever heard it, do yourself a solid and press play.

Obviously its beautiful song, Dinah Washington has an amazing voice, but something about the song kept me enthralled, and I couldn’t figure out why. I thought it might be something in the lyrics that I wasn’t registering so then I looked them up and realized why I couldn’t get this song out of my head:

This bitter earth
Well, what a fruit it bears
What good is love
Mmh, that no one shares?
And if my life is like the dust
Ooh, that hides the glow of a rose
What good am I?
Heaven only knows

Oh, this bitter earth
Yes, can it be so cold?
Today you're young
Too soon you're old
But while a voice
Within me cries
I'm sure someone
May answer my call
And this bitter earth, ooh
May not, oh be so bitter after all

What good is love that no one shares? 

Chances are that if you meet me, I’ll ask you about your passions. “What do you love to do?” is something I like to ask people, and I really dig hearing people’s responses. It’s not just a small-talk trick for me (though it is a good one). I know most of what I write about is about finding love, but I really genuinely enjoy hearing about love. Not just romantic love, but love as a concept. Love in a very broad sense. Not just love for a partner, or a friend, love that includes all those things and more. Whether it’s a feeling, a thing, a place, an activity, or a person, I think it’s incredible when someone loves something. I believe that sharing love, whatever you love and however you share it, makes us better people.  So, I want to encourage you to share love. It doesn’t have to be romantic love, or platonic love. It can be a passion, a hobby, or what you think is your higher calling.

I know it’s not easy for everyone to do that. It’s hard to share love when you don’t think you deserve love. So many people have felt that they aren’t deserving of love. It’s been a very long while, but there were countless times in my own life when I thought I didn’t deserve to have love shared with me. Take it from me: You. Deserve. To. Be. Loved. Your dating history wont change that fact, your sex life wont change that fact, the pain you’ve suffered in life wont change that either. You deserve to be loved, and recognizing that will only help you to find what you’re looking for in life. I know it can be hard, but I promise you that you deserve love, and you’ll make the world better when you share the love you feel for yourself with others. This isn’t just about dating, but yes, you’ll probably enjoy dating a hell of a lot more when you realize that you deserve to be loved. It’s harder to get down on yourself after a slew of bad dates when you realize that you’re loved and you share love with others. I’m happier now than I have ever been, and part of that happiness comes from sharing what I love. I love writing, I love talking about relationships, and I love podcasting with my brother. Sharing that with all of you makes me happy, and I know that for some people, even if it’s only one person, having what I love shared with them brought them a teeny-tiny piece of happiness. Which makes me happy! It’s a pretty awesome cycle!

You can do it too. It doesn’t have to be blogging, there are ways to share love, big and small, and it’s okay if they’re unique to you. It doesn’t matter who you share it with, but share love with someone. Even if that someone is yourself, or no one in particular. Talk about your passions, ask people about their passions. Tell a friend or family member you love them, just because. Appreciate the love being shared with you. These are just some examples, so feel free to share love the best way you know how.

In life there will be pain, heartbreak, and loss, because that’s the price of living.  But love is a gift that you should share with others. The world is largely indifferent, but you don’t have to be. You can be the bright spot in someone’s day by sharing love. You can be the bright spot in your own day by sharing love. Be open, be kind, and share your love with others, especially the ones who need it the most. Because what good is love that no one shares? What value do you gain from hoarding something intangible, that can mean so much more when you give it away? Maybe if we all shared a little bit more love this bitter earth wouldn’t be so bitter after all.

Good Luck Out There.

Your Thoughts?

