The Ten Commandments of Online Dating

I’m a big believer in the idea that some Dating Rules are meant to be bbroken.

That said, there are some Online dating Commandments that shalt not ever be broken. I give you:

The Ten Commandments of Online Dating

Charlton-Heston-Moses-10-commandments Online Dating

1. Thou shalt not be baby crazy

There is nothing wrong with knowing exactly what you want out of dating, but you don’t need to tell every stranger you meet that you want kids.

I really, really want to date a girl who can pull off high socks. Do I tell every person who is interested in dating me about my hope that one day they’ll wear some high socks? No, because that would be a bit weird. Even weirder, when you open with “I’m ready to have babies!”. Save that conversation for a later date, not your opening paragraph.
2. Thou shalt not lead with the negative

We’ve all been burned when it comes to dating, but that does not mean that you want to lead with a negative. I’ve said it before but I should say it again, your online dating profile is like a resume.

Would you put on your resume “I left my last job because it sucked and this job better not suck because I don’t play games”

Who does that? People who break Commandment 2 and don’t go on quality dates, that’s who.
3. Thou shalt not discuss your ex

I’ll be the first to admit that my ex is awesome. She’s awesome in an I don’t ever want to date her but she is just a great person and we’re friends kind of way. That said, I wouldn’t talk about her on my dating profile OR on a first, second, or third date. Leave your past relationships in the past and not on your profile.
4. Thou shalt be truthful

Be truthful not only in what you say, but also in your intentions and your pictures. People should leave your profile with a pretty well formed idea of what your interests are, what you’re looking for in general terms (remember: NO BABY DISCUSSION) and an idea of how you look at your best and on an average day. If you want to go on more than just 1st dates, be honest about who you are.
5. Thou shalt not be bland

Generic is your enemy. You may think you’re boring or average or normal but you’re not. You’ve had an interesting life and you need to put that out there. I’m not saying you need to brag about that one time you met a B-List actor, but you don’t want to come off as the Least Interesting Person in the world.
6. Thou shalt not steal pictures

Nobody wants to be Manti Te’o’d. Don’t be that person.
7. Thou shalt not commit adultery

I’m all for being Monogamish but you should never use online dating to full on cheat on your partner. If you’re in an open relationship, by all means, go for it. But again, be truthful.
8. Thou shalt be confident

Dating online can bring out the best and worst in people. If you’re not confident when you’re dating online you’re going to have whatever confidence you have shaken. Especially by all the repeated rejection which brings us to…

9.Thou shalt not reject rudely

Dating is a tough thing to do and rejections are bound to happen. Take my advice and remember to reject politely because they’re a person too. Unless they’re rude to you, then by all means, verbally eviscerate them.

10.Thou shalt put in effort

I don’t care how attractive you might be, or how well traveled, or how educated, you need to put some effort into Online dating. if you want something to work, you have to work at it. Again, and I can’t say this enough, your dating profile is your resume. You have to work at it if you want to be successful.

Good Luck out there

3 thoughts on “The Ten Commandments of Online Dating

Your Thoughts?

