Interracial Dating

I was recently forwarded a great article published at The New York Times: Race No Biggie on Dating Scene, but Girls, Nix the Mustache. An interesting read for sure but it got me thinking about interracial dating. First, some background. I’m the product of an interracial relationship. My Puerto Rican father met my African American mother and they married and had Indifferent  D. Needless to say, the dynamics of Interracial dating interest me on a personal level. Interracial dating is becoming more and more prevalent and accepted in our society. We’ve come a long way since 1967 So, after I read that article I started thinking about Interracial dating online. I’ll be honest here, I tend to date interracially and I meet most of my potential dates online. Interracial dating for me is hard to quantify. Do you think the Obama’s are an interracial couple? How about Mariah Carey and Nick Cannon? Regardless, I tend to date people who share either  some or none of my ethnic background. Now, back to the article. The point the article makes, that race is no biggie on online dating sites, sounds good, you know, because we live in post-racial America. Sure, it sounds good to say but is it true? We might be more open to interracial dating but the fact is, the response rates aren’t there. Have you read How Your Race Affects The Messages You Get? No, then read it and come back. Still think that Race isn’t a big deal when it comes to online dating? Now, let’s get impartial. OkTrends is (or was) the blogging and data analytics side of Okcupid. The Times Article sites a study conducted by Oxygen to sell a match making show. What about an independent study? I’ve got you covered. Here is a study conducted by the UC Berkeley’s School of Information on Online Dating The study states that: “Those who said they were indifferent to the race of a partner were most likely to be young, male and black,” Ok, so I guess that means that race doesn’t matter after all… Oh wait, “Whites more than blacks, women more than men and old more than young participants stated a preference for a partner of the same race,” Oh, so basically 70% percent of the population prefers to not date interracially? Tell me more: “The reluctance of whites to contact blacks was true even for those who claimed they were indifferent to race. More than 80 percent of the whites contacted whites and fewer than 5 percent of them contacted blacks, a disparity that held for young as well as for older participants” The study concludes: “It is clear that we are not yet in the post-racial era, and evidence from studies of online dating suggest that waiting for its arrival will take some patience,” In my experience I’ve never felt that I didn’t get a response because of my race but then again, I don’t specify what my race is. Consider all of this with a grain of salt as your experience may vary, just some food for thought. Good luck out there

3 thoughts on “Interracial Dating

    • I think that online dating makes acting out any fantasies you may have a whole lot easier in general, but I’ve noticed that most people are acutely aware of when that’s happening.
      I come across a ton of profiles that specifically say “please don’t have yellow fever” “please don’t date me because you want to date a black girl” so it might be easier to TRY to act out interracial fantasies at the very least

      Like

  1. Pingback: 5 Things I learned from “20 Things You Learn From Dating White Guys” | Tao of Indifference

Your Thoughts?

